You are currently browsing the daily archive for December 30, 2006.

dsc01296.JPG

I have set up table in the corner- for I like to observe, watch and heck take photos.So why am i sending you a picture of an echidna on a hot sunny summers day at Blairgowrie? This little fella won me a digital camera in January last year- I did have another digital camera but this one was so much better, and it came just before i was to travel to Egypt.

I love the sense of purpose this little echidna seemed to have- he wasn’t even perturbed by the fact that I lay on the ground to take his photos- in fact he didn’t even snigger whilst dashing past largish woman intent on capturing his image. In fact I have become a little guilty of snapping before looking- and have had to pay attention to the fact that seeing is important, so that is why I have taken up a table in the corner . I can see lots. I can see Lori gayly chatting with patrons, her laughter ringing through the air, I see- oh no I don’t do I ?- is that Orhan Pamuk- strapped to his writing table for 10 hours?- surely it is an illusion?

But what if I could chat with anyone I admired- whose writing enthralled me and took me to different places- who would that be- or if I had to spend a week in a bedouin tent alone, surrounded by goats hair woven fibre to keep out the sand what book would I take with me?

Posted by DCevaal.

My months in the City of Ladies and my time working at the Taverna were more satisfying than I ever could have imagined. I had engaged in discussions with writers and artists, both living and past, learned to dance Flamenco, studied the ways of ancient indigenous peoples, trained in the art of dowsing and all but drowned in the knowledge of many other arcane disciplines. I strolled the light-filled hallways of the Mousieon, almost skipping in joy at being surrounded by the knowledge of the ages and gathering research for my own creative endeavors. At night, under the watchful eye of the Proprietress of the Taverna, I acquired the practical skills of the hospitality business. She gave over the scheduling of the entertainment and the management of the kitchen to me. My days and nights were full but I still had time to visit Syren and take her for rides across the Cyberian countryside. I had settled into a busy but satisfying routine.

That routine was disrupted one Monday afternoon when I became aware of a rising murmur among the Tavern’s patrons. The murmur turned to applause and cheers as the patrons began standing. I was tending bar, straining to see the cause of the commotion. When the crowd parted, I let out my own exclamation of delight when I caught site of her. Enchanteur! She swept through the dining room, her long gown flowing behind her. She laughed and greeted various patrons. When she got close to the bar, I called out:

“Madame Enchanteur! Hello! Do you remember me?”

“Of course I do, Lori. How are you, darling?” She glided over to me and took both my hands in hers. “You look radiant.”

“Thank you, ma’am. I’m fantastic. What brings you here? I thought you were leading a tour?”

“Yes, I was. Amazing group of travelers. They are all on their own now and I am taking some time off to myself. Even Enchanteur must get her beauty sleep from time to time.”

“How long will you be in the City?”

“Oh, not long. I just came to have a few words with my cousin. Is she about?”

I noticed a trace of a smile and a glint in her eye.

“Who’s that?” thundered the Proprietress’s voice from the kitchen. She burst through the door behind the bar.

“You?!”

“Ethel, dear, it’s been awhile.”

“Yes, it has, Shantie.

Ethel, Shantie? I suddenly felt very uncomfortable in the midst of this family reunion. I turned my attention to polishing the glasses behind the bar.

“Well, aren’t you going to ask me to sit and have a drink?, “ asked Enchanteur. “We have a lot to talk about.”

“Indeed we do. This way.” Ethel turned and walked towards her office. Enchanteur turned to me and whispered, “Do you know anything about poker?”

“Excuse me, ma’am?”

“Poker. Do you know the game?”

“Only a little—stuff like ‘Never draw to an inside straight.’ That sort of thing.”

Enchanteur roared with laughter. “Darling, please, come to the Card Room tonight at 11 pm”.

Ethel hollered back.“Well, c’mon. I don’t have all day.” Enchanteur drifted off to Ethel’s office.

I was puzzled by her question. On Monday nights, Ethel hosted a weekly poker game—discreet, respectable and extremely high stakes. As a rule, Ethel posed as the dealer, but playing for herself instead of the house. Since I am not inclined to gamble, I usually managed the bar on Monday nights for her. I made arrangements for another staff member to keep the bar and I appeared in the Card Room as directed at 11 pm.

Seated at the card table was Ethel, wearing a green visor. Starting on her left was Jane Austen, Edgar Allen Poe, and John Singer Sargeant, the usual players. There was a new player as well—a mysterious woman from Seattle who would identified herself only as “Miss Lobo.”

Ethel began shuffling the deck as I busied myself arranging coffee service for the group. I was still wondering why I had been called there.

A short tap sounded on the door. It swung open and Enchanteur swept in. “Good evening, everyone!”

“What are you doing here?” grumbled Ethel. “I thought I made myself clear this afternoon.”

“Oh, you did, dear. I’m just here for a little poker-playing, that’s all”.

“You don’t gamble.”

“Of course I do—every time I give a writer a break, I take a gamble. So how much to buy into this game?

“One million—Lemurian.”

“That’s all?” Enchanteur smiled and pulled a black velvet bag out of her décolletage. “What’s the game?”

“Texas Hold ‘em.”

“Oooooh, how exotic.”

Ethel glared at her and began to deal.

Two hours later, Mr. Sargeant busted and dropped out, followed by Mr. Poe and Miss Austen a short time later. They drew their chairs to the side and continued to watch the players. I tended to them with wine and tapas.

Miss Lobo managed to stay in for another hour but she too lost her entire stake. A sound akin to a growl issued from her throat and I could have sworn her eyes flashed yellow as she stomped out of the Card Room.

“Well, Shantie, I guess it’s just you and me, “ though in fact the room had filled up with staff members who had just closed the Tavern for the night. They were entranced with the drama that was unfolding before them.

Enchanteur stood up and stretched. “Lori, dear, will you come and play this hand for me. I need a bit of a break.” A collective gasp arose from the crowd. I stared at Enchanteur. Ethel exclaimed, “You can’t do that!”

“And why not? You never stated any house rules.”

Ethel started to say something but then stopped and smiled at me. “Silly me. Of course she can sit in for you.”

“Wait, I don’t know anything about poker!”

“Shush, now. You’ll do just fine. Just forget whatever you’ve been taught and take a chance.”

I sighed and sat down. Ethel, straight-faced again, dealt two cards face down to me and then two to herself. I gently lifted the corner of each card—a 9 of Clubs and a Jack of Diamonds. I turned to show the cards to Enchanteur. She waved me off and said “I trust your judgment.” She picked up a 100,000 shekel piece and tossed it into the pot. Ethel did likewise and then laid down three cards face-up in the center of the table—an 8 of Clubs, a King of Hearts, and a Jack of Hearts. Enchanteur pitched in another 100,000. Ethel met that bet as well and turned up the next card—a Queen of Hearts.

I began to get warm and squirmed in my seat. I glanced up and saw Ethel watching me and smiling. I looked at my cards and then at the cards on the table. I had two ends of a straight run. All I needed was a 10 to complete it. “Never draw to an inside straight” echoed in my mind. Enchanteur rested a hand on my shoulder and whispered “Forget what you’ve been told; take a chance.” She pitched in two 100,000 pieces into the pot. Ethel tossed her coins in and drew the last card. I almost fell out of my seat: the 10 of Hearts.

“Another 200,000!” I exclaimed. The audience laughed as I pushed another two coins into the center. But my heart fell when I looked at Ethel. She had a wide Cheshire grin. I looked again at the table cards—10, Jack, Queen—all of Hearts. Depending on her pocket cards, Ethel could beat me in at least four ways, including the sweetest of hands, a Royal Flush.

“I’ll take that bet and raise you….” She countered her coins. “….two and a half million.” The crowd reacted again as she shoved every last coin into the pot.

I stared directly into her eyes. I had worked for Ethel for many months and I never knew her to lie to me. Yet, this was a game—a very expensive game. I continued to scrutinize her.

The energy in the room rose to an almost tangible thing. Finally, I slowly said, “Fine,” and pushed several stacks of coins to the center. “…..and I’ll raise you another 500,000.” I shoved in the remainder of Enchanteur’s pot. Ethel’s face fell flat.

Enchanteur chuckled. “What’s the matter, Ethel, out of funds?”

“No. I’ll just use tonight’s receipts.” The employees in the room began to murmur and grumble. It was one thing to gamble with her own money, but another to use the Tavern’s income.

“No good, dear, you know what I want.”

Ethel fired an angry glare at Enchanteur but eventually rose to her feet and went into her office. I turned to Enchanteur, “What is going on?”

“Tush, tush, you’ll see.”

Ethel came back in and tossed a piece of paper into the pot.

“Fine. Show ‘em.”

I took a deep breath and turned over my cards. A straight run, King high. The crowd applauded. Ethel shook her head in disbelief and flipped over her cards. “Three Kings. You beat me. I can’t believe you drew an inside straight.” Then she started to chuckle. She reached over the table and shook my hand. “Shantie, you played me like a fool. And YOU, what’s this ‘I don’t know anything about poker’….. you hustler, you.”

Enchanteur scooped up her coins but handed the paper to me.

“What’s this?” I asked.

“The deed to the Tavern.”

“Congratulations. You are now the proud owner of Il Taverna di Muse,” said Ethel.

“I don’t understand?”

Enchanteur sat down next to me. “Darling, the Taverna was waiting for you to come and run it. Ethel was supposed to keep it until you arrived. She just got a little….distracted from her purpose.”

“No, wait, I can’t do this.”

“Yes, you can. I tried to convince Enchanteur that you were not ready, but I was wrong.”

“Ethel, I can’t take this from you!”

“Oh, don’t worry about Ethel. I’m sending her to a spa and writer’s retreat down south to get it ready for its next proprietor. She’ll have plenty to keep her busy.”

“Yes, don’t worry about me. We’ve been playing this little game for the last 10,000 years. I just enjoyed this gig more than the others and didn’t want to give it up so soon. I’ll get the keys.” She patted me on the shoulders and went to her office.

I turned to say something to Enchanteur, but she had already vanished into the ether.

 

Lori Gloyd © 2006

Official Lemurian Tavern


Authenticated by le Enchanteur

What is the Soul Food Cafe?

The Soul Food Cafe is an international group of writers and artists whose global mission is to promote writing and art-making as a daily practice through the use of interactive web-based technologies such as blogging and e-mail groups.

Exploring Lemuria

Lemuria is the fantasy construct where the participants of the Soul Food Cafe post their work, andThe Taverna di Muse is one of many places and realms within Lemuria. To see some other Lemurian destinations, select one below and start your journey:

Riversleigh Manor
Murmuring Woods
Cyberia, City of Ladies
The Hermitage
On the Road with Enchanteur
The Digital Atelier The Cave of the Ancients
Lemurian Abbey
Halloween Party, 2006
The Heroine's Journey
Aboard the Calabar Felonway
The Pythian Games
Isle of the Temple People
Isle of Ancestors
The Temple of Solace
Grand Tour
Lemurian Tour
The Gypsy Camp

Joining Soul Food

If you are an intrigued visitor now wanting to join the Soul Food Experience, visit the Soul Food Cafe for instructions. Or you may write the SFC owner and manager heatherblakey @ dailywriting.net .

Disclaimer– Copyright

The opinions expressed by contributors to Taverna di Muse on this blog as well as on public domains outside this blog are not to be construed as an endorsement by Heather Blakey or Lori Gloyd. Material appearing on this site remains the property of individual artists and writers.

Calendar

December 2006
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 28,550 hits